Attention: The Waassertuerm+Pomhouse venue stays closed September 23rd for a private event
The Family of Man

The Family of Man
UNESCO Memory of the World

The Family of Man at Clervaux Castle

The Family of Man comprises 503 photographs by 273 artists from 68 countries and was created by Edward Steichen for the New York Museum of Modern Art (MoMA).

Presented for the first time in 1955, the exhibition was conceived as a manifesto for peace and the fundamental equality of mankind, expressed through the humanist photography of the post-war years. Images by artists such as Robert Capa, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Dorothea Lange, Robert Doisneau, August Sander and Ansel Adams were staged in a modernist and spectacular manner.

Having toured the globe and been displayed in over 150 museums worldwide, the final, complete version of the exhibition was permanently installed in Clervaux Castle in 1994.

Since its creation, The Family of Man has attracted over 10 million visitors and entered the history of photography as a legendary exhibition. In 2003, the collection was listed on the UNESCO Memory of the World register.

  • © CNA/Romain Girtgen
  • © CNA/Romain Girtgen
  • © CNA/Romain Girtgen
  • © CNA/Romain Girtgen
  • © CNA/Romain Girtgen

Historical summary

The historical collection in a contemporary context

The collection The Family of Man has enjoyed an eventful history, drawing 10 million visitors and prompting enthusiastic and critical reactions alike.

It constitutes an exceptional legacy that never ceases to generate stories and research. The exhibition was created by Edward Steichen as a collection of snapshots and emotions that aimed to convey a message of peace in the midst of the Cold War. While the collection still bears the traces of its context of creation, visitor reactions continue to reflect the impact of these images, which remain relevant to this day. Some have even become icons in the history of photography.

According to Edward Steichen himself, The Family of Man was the most significant work of his career. In a manner that was both unusual and visionary at the time, the collection condensed his approach to photography as well as his understanding of settings: the photographs were chosen according to their capacity of communication, while the layout allowed visitors to immerse themselves in a photographic essay. The collection embodies an astonishing summary of Steichen’s career as an exhibition curator at MoMA.

To exhibit this heritage today calls for a deference to history and an almost archaeological approach: the course of the exhibition and the chronology of the images have been respected and follow the layout of the original exhibition at MoMA in order to recreate the visitor experience and the effect the images has on them. This approach nevertheless demanded a shift away from history, resulting in the exhibition rooms featuring a very sober architecture conceived by designer Nathalie Jacoby (NJOY). Also a new mediation approach to the exhibition is part of the new concept and comprises e.g. a new museum library and multimedia guide on iPad mini. It accompanies visitors on their tour, giving them access to documents on the history of the original exhibition and its layout, as well as on the photographers themselves and Edward Steichen.

Restoration & conservation

The collection The Family of Man is composed of original prints dating from 1955, all in black and white and glued onto wood frames. The formats vary, ranging from 24 x 36 cm to 300 x 400 cm. These photographs have endured a long and turbulent history: from being exhibited throughout the world to being transported without packaging, handled by humans… This kind of history left its marks, which could be treated in a first large-scale restoration campaign within the 1990ies.  

A second restoration period followed the closure of the museum in the years 2010-2013. Recent developments in the science and tools used in photography restoration enabled a state-of-the-art analysis and treatment of the photographs to be carried out. A lot of the damage noted was able to be dealt with thanks to restoration treatments such as cleaning, consolidation and retouching.

The restoration campaign has been led in collaboration with the Studio Berselli from Milan, Italy (Silvia Berselli, Roberta Piantavigna, Francesca Vantellini, Isabel Dimas).

© CNA/Romain Girtgen

Attention: Le site Waassertuerm+Pomhouse sera fermé le 15 décembre pour un événement privé
The Family of Man

The Family of Man
Mémoire du Monde de l'UNESCO

The Family of Man au Château de Clervaux

La collection The Family of Man se compose de 503 photographies de 273 auteurs originaires de 68 pays, rassemblées par Edward Steichen pour le Museum of Modern Art de New York (MoMA).

Présentée pour la première fois en 1955, l'exposition se veut un manifeste pour la paix et l'égalité fondamentale des hommes à travers la photographie humaniste d'après-guerre. Les images d'auteurs tels que Robert Capa, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Dorothea Lange, Robert Doisneau, August Sander, Ansel Adams, ... sont mises en scène d'une manière moderniste et spectaculaire.

Après un voyage autour du monde dans plus de 160 musées, la dernière version intégrale de l'exposition est installée en 1994 au Château de Clervaux de façon permanente.

Depuis sa création The Family of Man a attiré plus de 10 millions de visiteurs et entre ainsi dans l'histoire de la photographie comme exposition légendaire. Depuis 2003, elle fait partie des documents inscrits dans le registre de la Mémoire du Monde de l'UNESCO.

  • © CNA/Romain Girtgen
  • © CNA/Romain Girtgen
  • © CNA/Romain Girtgen
  • © CNA/Romain Girtgen
  • © CNA/Romain Girtgen

Petit historique

La collection historique dans une perspective contemporaine

L'histoire mouvementée de la collection The Family of Man, ses 10 millions de visiteurs, les réactions enthousiastes et critiques font d'elle un patrimoine exceptionnel qui ne cesse de produire récits et recherches.

L'exposition a été conçue par Edward Steichen comme une collection d'instantanés et d'émotions qui visent à faire passer un message de paix en pleine Guerre Froide. Bien qu'elle témoigne du contexte de sa création, les réactions des visiteurs témoignent encore aujourd'hui de l'impact de ces images toujours d'actualité - et dont certaines sont devenues des icônes de l'histoire de la photographie.

De l'aveu même d'Edward Steichen, The Family of Man est l'œuvre la plus importante de sa carrière. Elle est à la fois insolite et visionnaire pour l'époque, tant par son approche photographique que scénographique : les photographies sont choisies selon leur puissance évocatrice, tandis que la scénographie immerge le visiteur dans un essai photographique. Elle résume d'une manière étonnante la carrière de Steichen en tant que commissaire d'expositions au MoMA.

Exposer aujourd'hui ce patrimoine demande de respecter l'histoire et d'observer une position quasi archéologique : le parcours de l'exposition et la chronologie des images ont été respectées et s'alignent sur la mise en scène de l'originale présentée au MoMA afin de pouvoir restituer l'expérience du visiteur et l'impact que les images exercent sur lui. Cette approche requiert cependant une distance prise par rapport à l'histoire qui se traduit à Clervaux par une architecture très sobre des salles d'exposition qui a été conçue par la muséographe Nathalie Jacoby du bureau NJOY. Par ailleurs, une nouvelle approche de médiation fait partie du concept d'exposition qui comprend p.ex. une nouvelle bibliothèque muséale et un parcours via tablette numérique (Ipad mini). Le visiteur sera ainsi accompagné dans sa visite et aura accès à une documentation sur l'histoire de l'exposition initiale, son parcours, les photographes de The Family of Man et sur Edward Steichen.

Restauration & conservation

La collection The Family of Man est composée de tirages originaux de 1955, tous noir et blanc et collées sur des panneaux en bois. Les formats sont divers, allant de 24x36 cm à 300x400 cm. Ces photographies ont une longue histoire, fort mouvementée: différentes expositions à travers le monde, des transports sans emballage, des usages par l'homme ... Les dégâts qui en coulaient étaient traités dans grande première campagne de restauration dans les années 1990.

Une deuxième campagne de restauration a été menée pendant les années 2010-2013. Le développement des sciences et des outils dans la restauration photographique a permis d'analyser et de traiter les photographies avec les meilleures technologies actuelles. Une grande partie des altérations constatées ont pu être soignées par les traitements de restauration tels que le nettoyage, la consolidation et la retouche.

La restauration a été effectuée en collaboration avec le Studio Berselli de Milan, Italie (Silvia Berselli, Roberta Piantavigna, Francesca Vantellini, Isabel Dimas).

© CNA/Romain Girtgen