Attention: The Waassertuerm+Pomhouse venue stays closed September 23rd for a private event
The Family of Man

The Family of Man
UNESCO Memory of the World

The Family of Man at Clervaux Castle

The Family of Man comprises 503 photographs by 273 artists from 68 countries and was created by Edward Steichen for the New York Museum of Modern Art (MoMA).

Presented for the first time in 1955, the exhibition was conceived as a manifesto for peace and the fundamental equality of mankind, expressed through the humanist photography of the post-war years. Images by artists such as Robert Capa, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Dorothea Lange, Robert Doisneau, August Sander and Ansel Adams were staged in a modernist and spectacular manner.

Having toured the globe and been displayed in over 150 museums worldwide, the final, complete version of the exhibition was permanently installed in Clervaux Castle in 1994.

Since its creation, The Family of Man has attracted over 10 million visitors and entered the history of photography as a legendary exhibition. In 2003, the collection was listed on the UNESCO Memory of the World register.

  • © CNA/Romain Girtgen
  • © CNA/Romain Girtgen
  • © CNA/Romain Girtgen
  • © CNA/Romain Girtgen
  • © CNA/Romain Girtgen

Historical summary

The historical collection in a contemporary context

The collection The Family of Man has enjoyed an eventful history, drawing 10 million visitors and prompting enthusiastic and critical reactions alike.

It constitutes an exceptional legacy that never ceases to generate stories and research. The exhibition was created by Edward Steichen as a collection of snapshots and emotions that aimed to convey a message of peace in the midst of the Cold War. While the collection still bears the traces of its context of creation, visitor reactions continue to reflect the impact of these images, which remain relevant to this day. Some have even become icons in the history of photography.

According to Edward Steichen himself, The Family of Man was the most significant work of his career. In a manner that was both unusual and visionary at the time, the collection condensed his approach to photography as well as his understanding of settings: the photographs were chosen according to their capacity of communication, while the layout allowed visitors to immerse themselves in a photographic essay. The collection embodies an astonishing summary of Steichen’s career as an exhibition curator at MoMA.

To exhibit this heritage today calls for a deference to history and an almost archaeological approach: the course of the exhibition and the chronology of the images have been respected and follow the layout of the original exhibition at MoMA in order to recreate the visitor experience and the effect the images has on them. This approach nevertheless demanded a shift away from history, resulting in the exhibition rooms featuring a very sober architecture conceived by designer Nathalie Jacoby (NJOY). Also a new mediation approach to the exhibition is part of the new concept and comprises e.g. a new museum library and multimedia guide on iPad mini. It accompanies visitors on their tour, giving them access to documents on the history of the original exhibition and its layout, as well as on the photographers themselves and Edward Steichen.

Restoration & conservation

The collection The Family of Man is composed of original prints dating from 1955, all in black and white and glued onto wood frames. The formats vary, ranging from 24 x 36 cm to 300 x 400 cm. These photographs have endured a long and turbulent history: from being exhibited throughout the world to being transported without packaging, handled by humans… This kind of history left its marks, which could be treated in a first large-scale restoration campaign within the 1990ies.  

A second restoration period followed the closure of the museum in the years 2010-2013. Recent developments in the science and tools used in photography restoration enabled a state-of-the-art analysis and treatment of the photographs to be carried out. A lot of the damage noted was able to be dealt with thanks to restoration treatments such as cleaning, consolidation and retouching.

The restoration campaign has been led in collaboration with the Studio Berselli from Milan, Italy (Silvia Berselli, Roberta Piantavigna, Francesca Vantellini, Isabel Dimas).

© CNA/Romain Girtgen

Achtung: Das Waassertuerm+Pomhouse Museum bleibt am 23. Septmber wegen einer privaten Veranstaltung geschlossen
The Family of Man

The Family of Man
UNESCO Weltdokumentenerbe

The Family of Man im Schloss Clervaux

Die Sammlung The Family of Man umfasst 503 Aufnahmen von 273 Fotografen aus 68 Ländern und wurde von Edward Steichen für das Museum of Modern Art in New York (MoMA) zusammengetragen.

Diese erstmals 1955 präsentierte Ausstellung versteht sich als Manifest für den Frieden und die fundamentale Gleichheit der Menschen – ausgedrückt durch die humanistische Fotografie der Nachkriegszeit. Die Aufnahmen von Künstlern wie Robert Capa, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Dorothea Lange, Robert Doisneau, August Sander oder Ansel Adams wurden auf modernistische und spektakuläre Weise in Szene gesetzt.

Nach einer Reise durch mehr als 150 Museen weltweit ist die letzte vollständige Version von The Family of Man nun seit 1994 als Dauerausstellung im Schloss von Clervaux untergebracht. Seit ihrer Schaffung hat die Ausstellung über 10 Millionen Besucher angelockt und geht somit als Legende in die Geschichte der Fotografie ein. 2003 wurde sie ins Weltdokumentenerbe der UNESCO aufgenommen.

  • © CNA/Romain Girtgen
  • © CNA/Romain Girtgen
  • © CNA/Romain Girtgen
  • © CNA/Romain Girtgen
  • © CNA/Romain Girtgen

Historischer Überblick

Die historische Sammlung in zeitgenössischer Perspektive

Die bewegte Geschichte der Sammlung The Family of Man, ihre 10 Millionen Besucher sowie die teils enthusiastischen, teils kritischen Reaktionen machen aus ihr ein außergewöhnliches Erbe, das immer wieder aufs Neue Autoren und Forscher beschäftigt.

Die Ausstellung wurde von Edward Steichen als eine Reihe von Momentaufnahmen und Emotionen konzipiert, die in Zeiten des Kalten Krieges eine Botschaft des Friedens vermitteln sollten. Obwohl das Werk den Kontext seiner Schaffung widerspiegelt, zeugen die Reaktionen der Besucher auch heute noch vom aktuellen Charakter der Aufnahmen, von denen einige sogar zu Ikonen der Fotogeschichte wurden.

Edward Steichen selbst hat The Family of Man zum wichtigsten Werk seiner Karriere erhoben. Diese Ausstellung war für ihre Zeit ungewöhnlich und visionär zugleich, in fotografischer und szenografischer Hinsicht: Die Aufnahmen wurden nach ihrer Ausdrucksstärke ausgewählt, während die Szenografie den Betrachter in ein fotografisches Essay taucht. The Family of Man fasst auf verblüffende Weise Steichens beruflichen Werdegang als Ausstellungskurator im MoMA zusammen.

Bei der Präsentation dieses bedeutenden Erbes in der heutigen Zeit sind Respekt vor der Geschichte und nahezu archäologisches Vorgehen gefragt: Der Parcours der Ausstellung sowie die Chronologie der Bilder wurden eingehalten und entsprechen der Originalinszenierung im MoMA, sodass die Besucher von heute die damalige Stimmung nachempfinden und die Aufnahmen gleichermaßen auf sich wirken lassen können. Dieser Ansatz erfordert jedoch eine gewisse Distanz zur Geschichte, die in Clervaux durch die sehr nüchterne Architektur der Ausstellungsräume erzielt wird in einem Design von Nathalie Jacoby (NJOY). Zum neuen Ausstellungskonzept gehört ebenfalls ein neues Vermittlungskonzept, welches z.B. eine Museumsbibliothek umfasst und einen Multimedia-Guide auf iPad mini. Dieser begleitet den Besucher durch die Ausstellung und gibt Zugang zu diversen Dokumenten über die Geschichte der Erstausstellung, ihren Parcours, die mitwirkenden Fotografen und Edward Steichen.

Restaurierung & Konservierung

Die Sammlung The Family of Man besteht aus Originalabzügen von 1955, allesamt schwarz-weiß und auf Holzplatten aufgeklebt. Die Formate variieren von 24 x 36 cm bis 300 x 400 cm. Diese Aufnahmen haben eine lange, bewegte Geschichte: diverse Ausstellungen weltweit, Transporte ohne Verpackung, Nutzung durch Menschen… Diese Geschichte hinterließ Spuren, die in einer ersten großen Restaurierungskampagne in den 1990ziger Jahren behandelt werden konnten.

Eine zweite Restaurierungsphase wurde in den Jahren 2010-2013 unternommen. Neueste Kenntnisse und Instrumente der Fotorestaurierung haben eine Analyse und Behandlung der Abzüge mittels modernster wissenschaftlicher Methoden ermöglicht. Ein Großteil der Schäden konnte über Verfahren der Reinigung, Konsolidierung und Retusche behoben werden.

Die Arbeiten wurden durchgeführt in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Studio Berselli von Mailand, Italien (Silvia Berselli, Roberta Piantavigna, Francesca Vantellini, Isabel Dimas).

© CNA/Romain Girtgen