15.10.2019 - 15.10.2019 from 18h30

Book Launch

Presentation of the new Edward Steichen biography by Gerd Hurm
Conference

On Tuesday, October 15 at 6:30 pm at the Cercle Cité in Luxembourg author Gerd Hurm will present his new book (in German) and answer questions from Hubert Spiegel, photography expert and editor of the cultural section of the "Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung".

The fascinating life and world-famous work of Edward Steichen, an American photographer of Luxembourg origin and a multi-talented artist, is at the center of this monography, which is conceived as a reinterpretation of the history of modern art as well as a biography. On the basis of new research, Gerd Hurm explains why, in works on 20th century art, Edward Steichen, his artistic projects and his commitment to pacifism, human rights, equality and ecology, are rarely discussed. Gerd Hurm's study thus offers a new and unsuspected perspective on Steichen's work. Luxembourg's Steichen collections, first and foremost "The Family of Man" on show in Clervaux (World Heritage Documentary, UNESCO, 2003), play a special role in his book which will appear in the series "biographies luxembourgeoises" published by Editions Saint -Paul in collaboration with the Centre national de l'audiovisuel (CNA). 

The author writes in his study: "Steichen is one of the great enigmas of modernity. Born in Luxembourg, he grew up in Milwaukee and worked successfully in Europe and the United States, leaving a breathtaking work. He has worked as an avant-garde photography artist and plant breeder, war reporter and children's book illustrator, fashion photographer and museum director, ecologist and conceptual artist, textile designer and curator. In his life as in his work, he has campaigned for pacifism, human rights, multicultural tolerance and gender equality. Intellectuals and artists as diverse as August Rodin and Eleanor Roosevelt, Dorothea Lange and August Sander, Gerhard Richter and Angela Davis, Consuelo Kanaga and Sebastião Salgado reacted enthusiastically to Steichen's artistic projects. Nevertheless, even in the twenty-first century, art critics remain extremely divided as to the impact of his work on the evolution of modern art. "

Gerd Hurm, born in 1958, is a professor of American literature and culture, director of the Center for American Studies at the University of Trier, a member of the Advisory Board of the Obama Institute at JGU Mainz and a Fulbright Liaison Professor. His areas of specialization in American studies include literature, political rhetoric, urban and gender research, and media and modern arts. He is co-editor of the critically acclaimed anthology "The Family of Man Revisited: Photography in the Age of Globalization" (2018).

15.10.2019 - 15.10.2019 à partir de 18h30

Présentation Livre

Présentation de la nouvelle biographie sur Edward Steichen de Gerd Hurm
Conférence

Le mardi 15 octobre à 18h30 au Cercle Cité l’auteur Gerd Hurm présentera (en allemand) son nouveau livre en avant-première à Luxembourg et répondra aux questions de Hubert Spiegel, expert en photographie et rédacteur à la rubrique culturelle de la « Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung ».

La vie fascinante et l’oeuvre mondialement connue d'Edward Steichen, photographe américain d’origine luxembourgeoise et artiste aux multiples talents, sont au centre de cette monographie qui se conçoit en même temps comme une réinterprétation de l'histoire de l'art moderne. Sur la base de nouvelles recherches, Gerd Hurm explique pourquoi, dans les ouvrages sur l'art du XXe siècle, il est rarement question d’Edward Steichen, de ses projets artistiques et de son engagement en faveur du pacifisme, des droits de l'Homme, de l'égalité des droits et de l'écologie. L'étude de Gerd Hurm propose ainsi un éclairage nouveau, insoupçonné de l'oeuvre de Steichen. Les collections luxembourgeoises consacrées à Steichen, notamment l'installation « The Family of Man » à Clervaux (Patrimoine mondial du documentaire, Unesco, 2003), jouent un rôle particulier dans son livre qui va paraître dans la série « biographies luxembourgeoises » des Editions Saint-Paul en collaboration avec le Centre national de l'audiovisuel (CNA).
L’auteur écrit dans son étude : « Steichen est l’une des grandes énigmes de la modernité. Né au Luxembourg, il a grandi à Milwaukee et a travaillé avec succès en Europe et aux États-Unis, laissant une oeuvre époustouflante. Il a travaillé comme avant-gardiste et sélectionneur de plantes, reporter de guerre et illustrateur de livres pour enfants, photographe de mode et directeur de musée, écologiste et artiste conceptuel, designer textile et commissaire d'exposition. Dans sa vie comme dans son oeuvre, il a milité pour le pacifisme, les droits de l'Homme, la tolérance multiculturelle et l'égalité des sexes. Des intellectuels et artistes aussi différents qu’Auguste Rodin et Eleanor Roosevelt, Dorothea Lange et August Sander, Gerhard Richter et Angela Davis, Consuelo Kanaga et Sebastião Salgado ont réagi avec enthousiasme aux projets artistiques de Steichen. Néanmoins, même au XXIe siècle, les critiques d’art restent extrêmement divisés quant à l’impact de son oeuvre sur l’évolution de l’art moderne. »

Gerd Hurm, né en 1958, est professeur de littérature et de culture américaines, directeur du centre d'études américaines de l'université de Trèves, membre du conseil consultatif de l'institut Obama du JGU Mainz et professeur de liaison de Fulbright. Ses domaines de prédilection dans le domaine des études américaines incluent la littérature, la rhétorique politique, la recherche urbaine et sur le genre ainsi que les arts médiatiques et modernes. Il est co-éditeur de l’anthologie « The Family of Man Revisited: la photographie à l'ère de la mondialisation » (2018) qui lui a valu les louanges de la critique.